My Friend: Eula M. Guest

eula-m-guest

Being Grateful

This year has been a trying time for many people in business.  I for one, have heard my share of horror stories.  People who have lost their homes, loved ones, employment, businesses.  It has really been a trying year for so many.

 

Now that the holidays are almost upon us, it is time to take stock of what  is really important.  I have friends who have lost loved ones back to back in a matter of weeks.  I just heard yesterday that a friend lost her mother and sister in a fire over the weekend.  Another friend of mine, who has been in remission for several years, saw a return in breast cancer, and she has to battle all over again.

 

I am telling these stories because we have to take time to be grateful for what we have.  I for one am glad that this year is coming to an end.   This has been one of the most trying times for people who believe in a higher spirit whatever you want to call it. I had my share of praying and trying to stay faithful in the word.  It is difficult when you are going through stuff to see the other side until you actually get to that other side. We are still going through some things but this I know for sure: Whatever the outcome, I believe that God is driving my ship. He has the final say, and I just have to wait on him to pull me through.  Whatever life struggles you are going through or have been through, we have to stay in faith and be grateful for the blessings that we do have.  I don’t know about you, but I am counting mine this Thanksgiving because I have seen some things happen to people that I wouldn’t wish on my own worst enemies.

 

When you think about wanting to have a pity party, think about people who have lost hope, people who have lost everything but the clothes on their back, people who have lost their homes, their loved ones, their communities, their jobs, and people who have to start completely over.  Be grateful for the small things, the sun rising in the morning, a child’s laughter, smile, a little puppy.  You Tube?  Yes even You Tube. I saw some great videos this year that made me smile, laugh and cry and brought me out of whatever funky mood I was in.

 

I am grateful for the chance to write my blogs and to express what is in my heart, my experiences and my expertise.  Blessings to all.

Psalm 118:24 This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.

 

Leave a Reply

