A Women’s Story: Molly McAleer, ‘2 Broke Girls’ Writer, Talks Being ‘Deeply Single’ And Success

 

m-MOLLY-MCALEER-460x345The Huffington Post  |  By 

What does it take to get to the top — without losing your center? Our “Making It Work” series profiles successful, dynamic women who are standouts in their fields, peeling back the “hows” of their work and their life, taking away lessons we can all apply to our own.

At 29, Molly McAleer, co-founder of the website HelloGiggles and executive story editor on the CBS sitcom “2 Broke Girls,” has paid more than a few dues in the entertainment industry. Born in Lexington, Mass., McAleer moved to Los Angeles in 2006 fresh out of Boston College. She went through “the Gawker machine,” as she put it, blogging in 2007 and 2008 at Defamer, Gawker Media’s celebrity gossip site. For nine months, she literally moonlighted as an assistant night editor at the Style Network. (“My hours were 4pm to 7am. When you go to sleep when the birds are chirping, that really f**ks with your mind.”) She signed a contract with MTV to star in her own variety show to be called “The Molls Half Hour Party Hour”… only to see the project fall through.

Then her luck began to change. Her friend, producer Sophia Rossi, had the idea of starting a website “like ‘Funny or Die’ for women.” Soon after, Zoey Deschanel joined the project. Realizing they didn’t actually have the staff or resources to create a video site, they focused on writing instead. It was while she was building HelloGiggles that McAleer began writing the TV pilot sample that landed her a gig on “2 Broke Girls,” which begins its third season this fall.

Now that she can reliably pay her rent, McAleer, who lives in West Hollywood with her 6-year-old chihuahua, Wagandstuff, and describes herself as “deeply single,” is figuring out exactly what success means, professionally and personally.

Did you become a writer by accident or design?
Writing online was completely an accident. My grandfather [John McAleer] was a quote unquote famous writer, so I was around writing my whole life. It was revered in my family, probably to the point that I felt like I couldn’t do it. I didn’t even realize that that was my passion for a long time. I’d been setting up little blogs on Angelfire and Homestead since I was 11 — [but] that was always just my thing that I did. I have a crazy interest in the Internet, but more than that I have a crazy interest in making people aware of all of my thoughts.

I was told when I started at Defamer that I needed to have a blogging presence individually, so I started keeping a personal blog. When it was linked under my name on the masthead, one of my bosses approached me and was like, “Are you sure this is the blog that you want people to see? You’re writing about your ex-boyfriends. Are you sure you want to be this personal?” And I looked at him and said, “What else am I supposed to write about?”

The TV job was [by] design. I just wasn’t making enough money. I was 27, and there was never going to be a freelance blogging gig that was going to make it happen for me.

Read More:  http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/09/20/molly-mcaleer-2-broke-girls_n_3832191.html?utm_hp_ref=women&ir=Women?utm_hp_ref=women&ir=Women

Leave a Reply

