Inspirational Woman Of The Day

Margaret Atwood

Homa Khaleeli

The Guardian, March 7, 2011

Article History

Margaret Atwood

Novelist behind The Handmaid’s Tale, a cautionary story of a world without feminism

Margaret Atwood’s dystopian novel The Handmaid’s Tale has been a relevation for millions of readers – offering a terrifying glimpse of a parallel future where biological determinism and misogyny are taken to their logical conclusions. It’s a cautionary tale of a world without feminism, and after the excesses of the Taliban’s regime in Afghanistan seems more prescient than ever. As Atwood, 61, said: “People would blithely say, ‘It couldn’t happen here,’ but this kind of thing can happen anywhere given the right kind of turmoil.”

Comments

  1. I’ve never read it, but will find it in the Chicago Public Library.

    Don’t consider myself a feminist, because I was raised with three brothers by an extremely independent Mother, a child of the Great Depression. I’ve done ‘men’s’ work and women’s’ work…but I prefer to be simply an artist–no gender required!

  2. Reblogged this on Greatpoetrymhf’s Weblog and commented:
    Lovely blog, nice tribute..for Margaret Attwood..new to me author…ladyromp.com

  3. I enjoy Margaret Atwood’s writing, particularly her short stories. She has a strength that is evident in a lot of female writers and is pronounced in female, Canadian writers.

    As women, we all need to pay attention.

  4. Love Ms. Atwood. Handmaids Tale is awesome. Given today’s political attacks on women I fear it may have foretold the States’ future.

    Two of my other favorites are as follows: The Edible Woman and The Penelopiad.

    The CPL has lots of her books. See the search below.

    http://www.chipublib.org/search/results/?searchType=Author&terms=Atwood&x=0&y=0

  5. Reblogged this on FierceBuddhist and commented:
    One of my favorite Authors.

  6. This is great. Thank you so much for reminding me of Margaret. I really love her writing and I have not read that book. I must buy it soon. 🙂

  7. jeglatter says:

    Thank you! It has been a long time since I read that book…going to go read her now soon.
    -Jennifer

  8. Thanks for sharing and lifting up a beautiful woman, who lifts up many everytime they read her messages!

  9. morezennow says:

    Margaret Atwood is my favorite author, hands down. I have read every one of her books but I think Oryx and Crake is my favorite. But the Handmaid’s Tale is starting to look like pretty ominous right now, with all of the attempts/horrifying successes,of taking our rights away. You would think this could never be possible in this day and age. I’m certainly not going to sit on the curb and watch it happen and if men love their mothers, daughters, wives, friends…they won’t either.

  10. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    I just added it to my list for my
    trek into town tomorrow
    Thanks for the post
    I know i will enjoy it

    Take care…
    )0(
    maryrose

  11. Her dystopia is a world without many things. It opens with the news that a rebel nest of Baptists has been destroyed!

  12. Does anyone else think she looks like Barbara Streisand?

  13. Big Fan of MA she is just A-mazing! I’ve read a lot of her work and she rarely disappoints.The Blind Assassin is Fab, its one of those books that will have you not wanting to leave the house Xx

Leave a Reply

